Back to Blog

India EOR Cost Comparison 2026: What You'll Actually Pay

Published May 4, 2026
Updated October 31, 2026
India EOR Cost Comparison 2026: What You'll Actually Pay

India EOR fees range from $99/month to $749/month depending on the provider — but the published fee is rarely the full story. Hidden surcharges, FX markups, upfront deposits, and prices that move with the salary band mean the number you see first is often not what you'll actually pay.

This article breaks down the true monthly cost of six India EOR providers at the same salary benchmark, so you can compare apples to apples.

Benchmark used: An engineer earning INR 80,000/month gross salary (~USD 838/month, converted at ₹95.47 per US$, indicative mid-market rate, 27 August 2026). All figures are employer cost only — the employee's salary is excluded from the comparison.


True cost comparison: all six providers at INR 80k/month

Provider

Platform fee

India surcharge

Upfront deposit

FX markup

True monthly cost

SynkPay

$349

None

None

None (no FX markup added)

~$349

Wisemonk

$99–$399

None claimed

Not stated publicly

None claimed

~$99–$399 (band-dependent)

Multiplier

From $459

None

None stated

None (no FX fees per its FAQ)

~$459+ (add-ons as applicable)

Remote.com

$599 (annual) / $699 (monthly)

None

Risk-based only

Reported by users

~$599–699

Deel

$599

$50–150/month

100% one month gross (~$838)

0.6–2%

~$649–749

Oyster HR

$599–699

None stated

None stated

Reported by users

~$599–699

On Deel's deposit: Deel requires 100% of one month's gross salary per employee locked upfront — for a 10-person team at $838/person average, that's about $8,380 in working capital frozen for the life of the engagement. SynkPay has no deposit requirement. We invoice the monthly salary at the start of each month and pay the employee at the end — a standard payroll cycle with no cash held back.


Provider-by-provider breakdown

SynkPay — $349/month

What's included: Full EOR service — employment contract, PF/ESI registration, monthly payroll, TDS filing, Professional Tax, compliance management, a named contact with real human support on WhatsApp, phone and email (no bots), and laptop/equipment purchase and delivery when you need it (you pay the equipment cost). Flat fee regardless of employee salary level. No setup fee. No deposit — monthly salary invoiced at start of month, paid to employee at end of month.

What's not included: Background verification ($300/employee, one-time optional add-on). Recruitment, if needed, is a separate service at 12% of annual salary.

Hidden costs: None. Pricing is published, flat, and consistent with what's charged.

Best for: Funded startups and mid-sized companies building an India engineering team who want India-specialist depth, live human support, and a flat predictable fee with no working capital tied up. Rule of thumb: at a flat $349 per head, your own entity usually only pays off somewhere around 15–25 India employees, depending on what the entity costs you to run. UK companies can see GBP pricing and invoicing on our India EOR for UK companies page.


Wisemonk — $99–$399/month

What's included: EOR service, payroll, compliance, a dedicated India HRBP as account manager with a stated sub-four-hour response time, and end-to-end onboarding including equipment setup — all listed in the base tier. Recruitment offered separately, published at 10% of annual salary.

What's not included: HR outsourcing and RPO. Also not published: which salary bands map to which price. Wisemonk states the $99–$399 range on its India EOR page, but not the variable that moves you within it, and the Enterprise tier is quoted on a call. Deposit terms are not publicly stated.

Hidden costs: The $99 headline is an entry price, not a flat rate. Your actual cost sits somewhere in the $99–$399 band depending on the hire, so get a quote at your specific salary level before comparing it against a flat-fee provider.

Best for: Cost-sensitive companies making a first India hire at a modest salary, where the entry price is the deciding factor. Founded 2020 — so it did not operate through the earlier Indian regulatory cycles (such as the 2017 GST introduction) that providers operating since 2016 have navigated.


Multiplier — from $459/month

Price: Tiered — Core from $459 billed annually ($499 monthly), Growth $519 ($559 monthly), Enterprise custom (published pricing, verified October 2026). The India page says "from $459".

What's included: EOR, payroll, compliance. Owned India entity. ESOP management. 24/7 support and a named Customer Success Manager on every tier (per Multiplier). Strong APAC coverage across 160+ countries.

What's not included: Recruitment (not offered). HR outsourcing (not offered). Phone support (not stated).

Hidden costs: Price cards add compliance-mandated add-ons and an implementation fee "as applicable"; its FAQ says no setup, onboarding, offboarding or FX fees. Contractor management is $40/month per contractor.

Best for: APAC-focused companies that want a flat fee and strong G2 reputation. Not suited for companies needing recruitment or HR outsourcing alongside EOR.


Remote.com — $599–699/month

What's included: EOR, compliance, equity management. Coverage in 190+ countries, with owned entities in about 85–90 of them, including India. Remote IP Guard included. No India surcharge.

What's not included: Recruitment. HR outsourcing. Phone support (ticket-based).

Hidden costs: FX markup reported by users. Contractor management at $29/month per contractor.

Best for: Companies where compliance purity and IP protection are primary concerns and price is secondary. SynkPay's $349 is 42% less than Remote's $599 annual-plan price per employee per month.


Deel — $649–749/month (true India cost)

What's included: The most feature-complete platform in the market. 100+ integrations. Free contractor management. Equity management. Immigration. Device procurement.

What's not included: India-specific depth. Phone support. And critically: Deel requires 100% of one month's gross salary per employee as an upfront deposit — real working capital tied up for the life of the engagement.

Hidden costs: India surcharge of $50–150/month not on the pricing page — only disclosed in sales calls. FX markup of 0.6–2% never itemised on invoices.

Best for: Companies with 50+ employees across multiple countries who need one platform for everything. Not suited to early-stage India-first companies.


Oyster HR — $599–699/month

What's included: Strong employee experience focus. Misclassification protection (Oyster Shell). Clean UI. Human support noted positively in reviews.

What's not included: Recruitment. HR outsourcing. India-specific depth.

Hidden costs: FX markup reported by users. Some APAC coverage is via third-party partners rather than owned entities.

Best for: Remote-first, values-aligned companies where employee experience matters. Expensive relative to India-specific value delivered.


What the EOR fee doesn't include — for all providers

The EOR platform fee covers the employment infrastructure, not the statutory employer contributions. For any provider, you'll also pay:

  • Employer PF contribution: From 17 September 2026, the wage ceiling for mandatory PF coverage is ₹25,000 a month, and employer and employee each contribute 12% (PIB). If contributions are made only up to the ceiling, that's up to ₹3,000 a month from the employer. EPFO is still issuing the implementing rules, so check current figures in our calculator. On INR 80,000 gross, the PF wage base under the Labour Codes is at least half of pay (₹40,000), so the benchmark engineer is above the ceiling: up to ₹3,000/month if you contribute to the ceiling, or ₹4,800/month if you contribute 12% on the full wage.

  • Employer ESI contribution: 3.25% of gross salary, where applicable — ESI covers employees earning up to INR 21,000 a month (ESIC). Most mid-to-senior engineers are above that, so ESI won't apply.

  • Gratuity: Now governed by the Code on Social Security, 2020: 15 days' wages for each completed year of service, payable after five years for permanent employees and after one year for fixed-term employees, capped at ₹20 lakh. SynkPay doesn't pre-collect gratuity each month. When an employee becomes eligible and leaves, the gratuity is calculated under the Code on Social Security and invoiced to you at that point.

Use the SynkPay India employee cost calculator to model total employer cost at any salary level, including PF, ESI, and the EOR fee.

Competitor pricing in this article was checked against each provider's own public pages in July–August 2026. This article also references data collected from online research and ratings platforms such as Anywherer.


Frequently asked questions

Why does Deel charge an India surcharge when others don't?

Deel's published $599/month base price applies to most markets. India-specific compliance complexity adds operational overhead that Deel passes through as a surcharge of $50–150/month, disclosed only in sales calls. SynkPay, Wisemonk, and Multiplier all price India without a separate surcharge — though only SynkPay charges a single flat rate; Multiplier's fee is flat within each of its tiers, and Wisemonk's price varies within its published band.

Does SynkPay require an upfront deposit?

No. There is no deposit. SynkPay invoices the monthly salary at the start of each month and pays the employee at the end of the month. No cash is held or locked away at any point.

How does FX markup affect the real cost?

Deel charges 0.6–2% above mid-market exchange rate on currency conversions, never itemised on invoices. For a company paying INR salaries from USD, 1% markup on $10,000/month in salary payments is $100/month in hidden cost. SynkPay doesn't add an FX markup or margin.

Does a cheaper EOR mean lower compliance quality?

Not necessarily — but it warrants due diligence. The right questions: does the provider operate a direct India entity? How long have they been processing Indian payroll? Is the price you're quoted flat, or does it move with salary? A provider that has been processing Indian payroll since 2016 — starting before the 2017 GST introduction and running through every change since, including the Labour Codes that took effect in November 2025 — has a longer track record than one founded in 2020. Ask any provider you're evaluating when their India entity was established and what regulatory changes they've navigated.

Can I switch EOR providers if I'm unhappy?

Yes, but it requires a formal employer change for each employee under Indian law. Most providers, including SynkPay, can manage incoming transitions.


Ready to model your specific cost? SynkPay's EOR India page has full pricing detail, or use the India cost calculator to run the numbers at your candidate's salary level.

Nagendra' 'Yadav

Nagendra Yadav

Published on May 4, 2026

Want to read more?

Explore more articles on our blog

View All Articles